Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

Skip to Main Content
Columbia Campus    
2018-2019 Graduate Studies Bulletin 
  Jun 19, 2024
2018-2019 Graduate Studies Bulletin [Archived Catalog]

Chemical Engineering

Return to: Chemical Engineering  


Michael D. Amiridis, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1991, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
Christine W. Curtis, Ph.D., Florida State University, 1976, Senior Vice Provost
Francis A. Gadala-Maria, Ph.D., Stanford University, 1979, Undergraduate Director
A. Jochen Lauterbach, Ph.D., Free University of Berlin, Germany, 1994, SmartState Chair in Strategic Approaches to the Generation of Electricity
Michael A. Matthews, Ph.D., Texas A&M University, 1986
Harry J. Ploehn, Ph.D., Princeton University, 1988
Branko N. Popov, Ph.D., University of Zagreb, Croatia, 1972, Carolina Distinguished Professor
John R. Regalbuto, Ph.D., University of Notre Dame, 1986, SmartState Chair in Renewable Fuels for the Fuel Cell Economy
James A. Ritter, Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo, 1989, Graduate Director and L.M. Weisiger Professor of Engineering
John W. Van Zee, Ph.D., Texas A&M University, 1984
John W. Weidner, Ph.D., North Carolina State University, 1991, Chair, College of Engineering and Computing Campaign for Excellence Professor of Chemical Engineering
Ralph E. White, Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley, 1977, Distinguished Scientist
Christopher T. Williams, Ph.D., Purdue University, 1997

Associate Professors

Edward P. Gatzke, Ph.D., University of Delaware, 2000
Melissa A. Moss, Ph.D., University of Kentucky, 2000
Esmaiel Jabbari, Ph.D., Purdue University, 1993
Xiao-Dong Zhou, Ph.D., Missouri University of Science and Technology, 2001

Assistant Professors

James O. Blanchette, Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 2004
Andreas Heyden, Ph.D., Hamburg University of Technology, 2005
Jason R. Hattrick-Simpers, Ph.D., University of Maryland, 2007
Ehsan Jabbarzadeh, Ph.D., Drexel University, 2007
Thomas G. Stanford, Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1977
Mark J. Uline, Ph.D., Purdue University, 2008

Research Professors

John R. Monnier, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1978

Research Associate Professors

Oleg Alexeev, Ph.D., Boreskov Institute of Catalysis, Siberian Division, Russian Academy of Sciences, 1989
Armin D. Ebner, Ph.D., University of South Carolina, 2000
Sirivatch Shimpalee, Ph.D., University of South Carolina, 2001

Research Assistant Professors

Prabhu Ganesan, Ph.D., Central Electrochemical Research Institute, India, 2005
Xuguang Li, Ph.D., Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2002
Sean C. Rayman, Ph.D., University of South Carolina, 2009

A listing of faculty with term appointments to graduate faculty status is available at